Contouring experiment…

Published October 7, 2015 by sarahsmith1988

www.beautychicz.com

IMAG0686

No makeup

I have recently been intrigued by this whole contouring businesses, but I must say I am rather behind since this is a trend that has been around for awhile. I never really took an interest in it till quite recently. As stated before starting a makeup business has really pushed me into experimenting more with make up and finding out what works best for my skin and face shape. I am also going ahead with a beauty course, to learn makeup professionally as well as beauty treatments. Lets just say, starting this business has really made me open my eyes to what I enjoy doing the most. 

After a few hours of searching for video’s and articles based on contouring I came across a video that was simple to follow and using more shades then my previous blog post. Making it slightly harder and more challenging for myself. 

To start off with I applied a liquid foundation, this is because the contouring kit was cream and as advised by the video if your using a cream contouring kit, be sure to use a liquid foundation. Using a blending bud I then dabbed the foundation on lightly as you dont want to much product on, must remember the cream contouring kit also needs to be applied. You want it to look natural not caked on! After applying the foundation I then applied the liquid concealer under my eyes and again blended the product in by dabbing. 

I then moved on to the contouring lines!! 

After applying all the contouring lines and leaned back to have a proper look my first thoughts were “This is not going to work” I looked like I just randomly painted on lines which make no sense and could not see how these colours would blend in afterwards to create or even resemble a natural looking “glow” 

After some hesitation I blended in the lines and hoped for the best. I followed the instructions down to exact (Except from the colours as I had a different palette and brand) 

After blending the contour lines

After blending the contour lines

My over all opinion of contouring is that I do love the effects you can create with contouring, just by using different shades and certain colours you can really makeup your face to look amazingly flawless and cover up any problem areas. How ever I do find the whole process very time consuming and it does take some time to perfect. It is tricky to get right. I used a cheaper end of the market contouring kit so I guess this does not help. Next in line with contouring I shall be trying the Anastasia Beverly hills contouring kit as I have heard many great reviews about this brand of makeup, especially the contouring kit! 

I would love to hear your thoughts on contouring and what are your best contouring brands/products? xox

contouring

Leave a Reply

